Nominate Local, National, and International Energy Leaders

April 1, 2011

The Energy Efficiency Forum is accepting nominations for its 2011 Energy Leadership Awards. Established in 1991, the Energy Leadership Awards recognize individuals who have provided exemplary leadership in instituting and advancing energy efficiency in the United States and abroad. The Awards will be presented during the 22nd Annual Energy Efficiency Forum, taking place on June 15-16 at the National Press Club in Washington, D.C. The deadline for nominations is May 13.

Awards are presented in the following categories:

Public Service Award – Recognizes a current or former public education official or federal, state or local government public servant who has motivated action addressing energy efficiency across their operations and has served as an advocate of energy efficiency.

Mayor’s Award – Recognizes a current or former holder of a city-level elective office who has made a significant contribution to energy efficiency at the city government level.

Congressional Award – Recognizes a current or former member of Congress who has contributed to legislative achievements that encourage energy efficiency gains in the public and/or private sector.

Governor’s Award – Recognizes a current or former holder of a state-level elective office who has made a significant contribution to energy efficiency at the state government level.

International Award – Recognizes a current or former international, federal or state public official who has encouraged energy efficiency internationally.

Douglas Decker Lifetime Achievement Award – This award is presented to an individual who has made a significant, long-term contribution toward the advancement of energy efficiency on a national or global scale.

Nominations for the Energy Leadership Awards can be submitted by peers, though individuals can also self-nominate. Nomination forms are available on the Energy Efficiency Forum website. Honorees will be chosen by members of the Forum Executive Council.

Previous honorees include: Senators Hillary Rodham Clinton, Jeff Bingaman and Dianne Feinstein; Energy Secretaries Federico Pena and Hazel O’Leary; Defense Secretary Caspar Weinberger; Governors John Hoeven, Christine Todd Whitman, Bill Owen and Edward Rendell; and Mayors Martin O’Malley and Greg Nickels.

“Energy Efficiency – The Smart Path to Energy Security and Economic Growth” is the focus of the 22nd Annual Energy Efficiency Forum co-sponsored by Johnson Controls and the U.S. Energy Association (USEA). Energy efficiency can play an important role in increasing national security and fueling economic recovery. This year’s Forum will examine how advanced efficiency technologies, smart energy policies and consumer education can be integrated today to enhance energy security, improve global competitiveness and accelerate economic growth.

The Energy Efficiency Forum and the Virtual Energy Forum are joining together to simulcast the invitation-only 22nd Annual Energy Efficiency Forum speeches and discussions on June 16, giving more people worldwide the opportunity to participate in the dialog on energy efficiency and sustainable business practices.



Dawn Killough

has over 15 years experience in the construction industry and is the author of Green Building Design 101, an e-book available from Amazon. She is a LEED AP and Certified Green Building Advisor, and has worked on the LEED Certification of three projects in Salem, Oregon.